Autumn made easy.

It’s rainy and cool in my part of the world today. I put on my sweats and long-sleeved shirt, and set about figuring out an easy but tummy-warming meal everyone in my family would enjoy for Sunday Supper.

My son suggested twice-baked potatoes and that sounded perfect for a cool day. For the entree, I reached way back into my past for a simple-but-scrumptious dish known as “Baloney Chicken.”

I know. It sounds weird. And gross. The name reflects my Okie heritage because it’s named after an Italian man named Mr. Bologna, which my friends and family pronounce as “baloney.” I learned the recipe from my college roommate, and it’s one of the easiest but tasty chicken cutlet dishes around.  Trust me. Make it once and you’ll be hooked.

My table was colorful but pared down. It was just one of those weekends, you know, when you’d rather curl up on the sofa with a good book than spend hours dressing the table and prepping dinner.  All in all, I had about an hour invested in this meal. I’d say that’s not bad for a supper as pleasing as this one.

An Autumn Sunday Supper Menu

“Baloney” Chicken

Twice-Baked Potatoes

Roast Broccoli

“Baloney” Chicken

2 lb chicken cutlets or tenders, lightly pounded so they’re not too thick

2 sticks butter, melted

1 cup flour

3 eggs, lightly beaten with a tablespoon of water

2 cups Panko bread crumbs, mixed with Italian seasoning

1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, shredded or grated

Salt and pepper

Dredge chicken pieces in flour, then salt and pepper both sides. Dredge in egg mixture, followed by bread crumb mixture, followed by melted butter. Arrange on a large baking sheet and sprinkle tops with Parmesan cheese.  Bake at 375 degrees for 30-40 minutes, or until lightly browned and cooked all the way through. Serves 4.

Twice Baked Potatoes

Scrub and bake four large baking potatoes.  Let cool, then slice in half lengthwise and scoop out the centers. Mix potatoes with your choice of ingredients. I prefer equal amounts of butter, cream cheese, sour cream, and shredded cheddar cheese.  I add a generous amount of salt and pepper, plus a splash of heavy cream.  I use a potato masher to make sure the mixture is nice and creamy.  Refill the skins with the potato mixture, top with more shredded cheddar, and bake at 400 degrees until well-browned, about 20 minutes. Alternately, the stuffed skins can be refrigerated for up to a day and then baked at 375 for 30-40 minutes. Serves 8.

Roast Broccoli

Toss several cups of broccoli florets with olive oil, salt and cracked pepper.  Spread on a baking sheet and roast at 400 degrees until florets look toasted, about 20-25 minutes.  Serve immediately. Serves 4.

A woven cornucopia and an assortment of silk foliage make a perfect centerpiece for an autumn supper.

2 Comments on “Autumn made easy.”

  1. IrishJenn says:

    Sounds yummy. As usual, I have dish envy. And those green glasses? My grandmother had some just like that. Brings back good memories.

  2. Oh, I do love twice-baked potatoes. I haven’t dug my potatoes up yet, but when I do, there will be french fries and twice-baked potatoes once again at Blackrock.

    Although, actually, I seem to only make the twice-baked kind for my husband on his birthday. I should remedy that.


Leave a Reply

